the Run of the year…

6 Dec

It was certainly one of the major events in my calendar, and I have been preparing for it but it was only mental preparation. =p

Standard Chartered Marathon Singapore has successfully ended yesterday with bright shinny sun and exhausted runners that includes me. XD

I have took part in the 10km run. Woke up extremely early, it was probably the only day I wake up this early. Prior that, I had insomnia before the run…I was feeling nervous?! haha…

Reaching Cityhall MRT station and the first thing I saw when I exit the train was blue. Haha..ya..Blue. That was the color of the runners’ tee this year.

It was nice to see so many people take up the race. Even it was not for the prize but at least once a year, you wake up early to exercise, enjoy the fresh air and probably see the sunrise. =) I am glad that I did not back up as I did not train at all, and I was worried that I would end up be the last few to reach the finished line. But I told myself to be a good finisher since I have signed up, so even if I would have to walk the whole 10km, I would do it. ^^v

I had started the race late because of the bag deposit. =\ However, there were too many people that they had to separate us into different wave to set off. Thus, I was one hour late.

I have to say that the emcee did a good job to cheer us up before we start to run. *clap clap… Even he had no platform to stand, but he stood tall to look at us and crack jokes. Hahaha…

Sooo..I ran the first 2km, and then I ran abit here and there. There were three up and down slopes, the most difficult one was to “climb up” the ECP Benjamin Sheares Bridge. Most of us had to walked up because it was the merged for all runners from full marathon, half marathon and 10km runners, there were too many of us. Also, the up was totally draining. Haha I know it was worst for the full and half marathon. I heard from my friend who took part in 21km, they were already drained in the Sentosa as there are many up and down slopes, and that was their first 9km. >///<

The sun was totally unmerciful, it literally cooked us. =p I got sun burnt on my both shoulders, arms and the neck. Buuuttt I am proud of myself because I have out done myself by running 10minutes faster than 2008. ^^v

Today, I am still recovering from muscle ache and sun burn. It was all worth it. I have complete my 2010 with the marathon, and I like that. I am thinking to get all, or at least, some of the Parco incubators to run together next year. XD Well, time to get out of the drawings and sewing and get our legs moving and shower in the sunshine…XD

This year, SC gave us another piece of tag to write something inspiring for the fellow runners. Seriously, those words kept me accompany and happy during the tired, painful yet enjoyable race. Well done runner and thank you!

P.S We had a Pikachu, a snowman and the vikings to run with us this year. I have to kudos to them because the weather was so hot, the running was not easy yet they dress up and completed the race. Well done~! Hope to see you next year…XD…

One Response to “the Run of the year…”

  1. MF December 7, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    WELL DONE my friend!!!! So proud of you!!! And not forgetting PIKACHU too… Props for everyone! 😀

Leave a Reply

